“... the most active, prolific and intrepid group of experimental filmmakers working in Ireland today.” AEMI

The Experimental Film Society (EFS) is an independent, not-for-profit entity that produces, screens, promotes, and archives films by its members. It was founded in 2000 in Tehran, Iran by Rouzbeh Rashidi and has been based in Dublin, Ireland since 2004. It unites works by a dozen filmmakers and associated artists scattered across the globe, whose films are distinguished by an uncompromising devotion to personal, experimental cinema. They have in common an exploratory approach to filmmaking and their films foreground mood, atmosphere, visual rhythms, the interplay of sound and picture, and the nature and subjectivity of the image and the gaze that engenders it, as well as the permeability of the borders between fiction and lyrical filmmaking. Although an international organization, EFS is notably at the centre of a new wave of Irish experimental filmmaking.

Rouzbeh Rashidi archives and produces films by EFS members, as well as arranging, programming, and presenting screenings of this constantly-growing body of work. He also manages all EFS online video hosting (including EFS ‘Video On Demand’) where a selection of short, medium, and feature-length films are available for streaming and download.

To request or book the Experimental Film Society programme, please contact:


Additional information

These three texts reflect the core ideologies behind the Experimental Film Society, ideas that are progressed through the singular work of the member filmmakers and homogeneously through EFS as a collective of artists. These comprehensive accounts might prove helpful to curators and film programmers who are interested in the work of EFS.

  • Spectres of Memory By Esperanza Collado. Read HERE
  • New Voices in Irish Experimental Cinema By Donal Foreman. Read HERE
  • The Films of Experimental Film Society By Alice Butler and Daniel Fitzpatrick from AEMI. Read HERE


Maximilian Le Cain – Ireland
Rouzbeh Rashidi – Ireland
Jann Clavadetscher – Ireland
Michael Higgins – Ireland
Dean Kavanagh – Ireland
Esperanza Collado – Spain
Jason Marsh – UK
Atoosa Pour Hosseini – Ireland
Émmsen Jafari – Iran

Experimental Film Society projects